Massage marketing – election day

Well, I have to say that I am definitely not sure (ha ha) of whether or not making the official opening of  my business Total Natural Health the same time as election day was a good choice or not. I sent out press notices yesterday, figuring that it might be something a little different from the run of the mill politics, but I’m not sure if  they were sent out or not. I’m also pretty sure they weren’t the best releases, since I have never written them before. I sent them out to one free magazine/paper,  one local paper, and a  local radio station.

The snow this morning (and today) did not seem to help matters. I am hoping that it is not a foretelling of how my business is going to do. It doesn’t look like it has stuck to the streets though, so maybe that’s a good sign. I’m not sure if all business owners (or owners of massage practices) go through these worries at the starting of their businesses or not, although I suspect they do.

As for marketing, I have been giving out coupons for free 30 minutes massages with the opportunity to upgrade to an hour massage for $35, with an expiration date of two weeks from the time of distribution. My goal is to give out 100 a week, but for at the most eight weeks. Obviously I want clients who are willing to take action. So, I am slowly learning how to go into businesses and talk  to owners and managers as well as putting up flyers & certificates door to door. When I started I put some in mailboxes, but then was  told that it was illegal and a federal crime. It seems a  bit picky to covet the mailboxes that much, but I learned to put things on peoples’ doors – an interesting although scary aspect. It seems good to have a mantra about succeeding while pounding the pavement.

I also sent out my first newsletter today (along with coupons) called Total Natural Health Fall 2012 newsletter (creative huh? 😉  So far, I have only had two returned addresses. I’m hoping the others will stay on my list…my wife made me change her address though – too funny.

Anyway, as I usually try to end with a question, please let me know what types of marketing ideas you may have or use. It doesn’t matter if you own a business or not, just let me know (creative is great). I tend to love and use many marketing ideas. My goal is to have 60 or more regular clients by the end of December. I appreciate your thoughts!!

Thank you!

Total Natural Health, 1070 Tunnel Rd., Suite 20, Asheville, NC 28805 (just inside the Precision Pilates Studio) 828-333-2067

Leave a comment